Posted on: Tuesday, April 15th, 2014

Engaging with Ma Whea?

In a few weeks time representatives from across our Province will gather for our 61st General Synod.  While a number of issues will be discussed, of particular significance is the reporting back to synod of the Ma Whea? Commission.  Established by General Synod in 2012, the Ma Whea Commission was tasked with reporting to Synod on issues surrounding the blessing and/or ordination of persons in same-sex relationships.  The report (which can be found here) is a clear document, outlining in a concise manner many issues that impact the discussion.   It concludes by offering ten possible ways forward for our Province, which will no doubt form the basis of much discussion at General Synod.


The Latimer Fellowship submitted to the Commission, and members of the Executive had the privilege of presenting to the Commissioners.  Additionally, a number of Latimer members made submissions.  While the summary of submissions is concise, we feel that we have been heard.


However, we also consider that there are a number of issues raised in the report that warrant careful contemplation.  Therefore, to aid General Synod representatives, as well as to encourage evangelical Anglicans throughout New Zealand, over the coming days Latimer will be offering a series of reflections on the Ma Whea report.  Our aim is to bring to light some of the assumptions that appear in the report, and to encourage and equip Anglicans to hold to an orthodox, biblical and traditional understanding of same-sex attraction and relationships.   Reflections will be written by a range of Anglicans from around the country and posted every couple of days between now and General Synod starting.


While public comments are closed, we welcome your communication via   You’re encouraged to make those in your church, and especially those involved in decision making and leadership in your church, aware of this resource.


Please do be upholding the General Synod representatives in prayer.


Rev. Dave Clancey

Chairman of the Latimer Executive.